Bicycle trip from Rzeszów to Baltic coast, Pl, i.e. refreshing old memories + wonderful people CS/WS met along my way Chapter 2 6th August 2014 – there is always something interesting to find

I got up, ate scrambled eggs with Jacek, made farewell and set off to Chełm. The second stage seemed to be much shorter than the previous one, so I wasn’t in hurry, rode slowly to Zamość’s market place in old town to cherish the view. It did deserved to be on Unesco World Heritage list –a unique example of a Renaissance town in Central Europe, consistently designed and built in accordance with the Italian theories of the ideal town”.

DSC02317

So I sat on a bench and phoned my family to say I’m OK and ready to start from this beautiful place a new day in saddle. I left Zamość, left main road and headed more or less north. The landscape was 100% agricultural and have to admit I liked it less than my own region and area south of Zamość I passed through the day before. I noticed there were fields, fields and fields with almost no forests, so I was afraid it was going to be the most boring day of my journey. But sometimes the fields were really nice.

DSC02330

Before I reached little town of Wojsławice I was surprised 4 times by strange surface of a road made from bricks. As nice lady from village shop told me it was surface built before WWII, so it was in really good condition, although not very bicycle rider buttocks friendly.

DSC02336

In Wojsławice very close to each other are Catholic church, Orthodox church and synagogue, which shows how people of different religions could live here in peace before the war. The Orthodox church’s belfry has unique shape and is really old  – just see what has left of its bricks.

DSC02340DSC02343

Close to Chełm began the field of flax and nice mix of fields colours.

DSC02347

Chełm is famous for its chalk mine in the centre of old town. I haven’t visited it this time as I did it some 10 years ago and I’m going to come there once again with my family to admire it together.

My Chełm couchsurfing host Rafał phoned me as I was 15 km before town that he wouldn’t be able to accompany me but he organized everything so that I felt very welcome – the key at neighbour and full fridge (with clear invitation to use all I want). So, I went alone to old town, made a short walk, ate delicious and quite cheap ice-cream, bought some sweets for Rafał’s kids and returned to his flat to rest after 98 km rode that day.

Leave a Reply

